Easy Vegan Pie Crust

I am so excited to say that I have had plenty of time to cook and bake since the COVID-19 pandemic.

I have been posting on all of my social media outlets as well as posting on FB live and  have had many positive responses.  I had some leftover strawberries in my fridge and decided that I would make a strawberry pie.

I am not a huge fan of pies, however I absolutely love strawberries.  I also love a flaky pie crust, so I decided I would share my vegan pie crust recipe.

Ingredients:

2 1/2 cups of flour

3 tablespoons of sugar

1 teaspoon of salt

1 cup of vegan butter (Earth Balance)

6 to 8 tablespoons of ice water

 

Directions:

in a food processor, combine the flour, salt, and sugar.  Pulse a couple of times, then add the butter and pulse until the flour mixture looks mealy.

Add the ice water one tablespoon at a time and continue to pulse

 

Place the dough onto a clean flour surface and knead for a minute or two, be careful not to over knead, you will cause the dough to be tough

Separate the dough into 2 equal parts and flatten

 

Wrap the dough in plastic wrap and allow to chill in the refrigerator for an hour or up to 2 days if needed.  You can also prepare the dough in advance and freeze for latter use

sUtS%PB0QfWR29XMG2g2fw

Once you are ready to make your pie, roll out one of the disk on a flour surface and place the dough on a pie pan allowing the sides to overlap

Add your filling and then place the next disk on top of your filling ( you might want to create a lattice) and cut wholes so that the steam can vent while baking

Bake your pie and enjoy!

Leave a comment